WIP-Toe Up Socks.


I’ve decided to face my “fear” and use the Austerman Step yarn I bought for my birthday. These are toe up socks on 2 circulars, with short row toes, and it will eventually have a short row heel. The pattern is the Universal Toe Up Sock Pattern that was featured in the Summer 2006 issue of Knitty. This was the third attempt and they say that the third times’ a charm. 🙂 I first cast on and did a short row toe, but I was a doofus and misread what E in the pattern should be, so my toe was off and my short rows were off. So I frogged it and started over again, deciding to use the

WIP-Toe Up Sock 10-6-07

Easy Toe Cast On, but that didn’t work out so well with the sock weight yarn. So I frogged it again, went back to the short row toe and that worked well. Because of the toe being short rows, there’s a patch of blue on one side before the yarn actually self stripes. The yarn is really nice to work with. It does get fuzzy after you frog something, but there’s also lotion in the yarn, so that feels very nice on the hands.

I’m toying with the idea of making these into knee socks and spending the money on another ball of yarn for the second sock. We’ll see, though, because this yarn isn’t cheap.

It’s very warmer than normal today and I’m knitting socks. I had to stop, though, because it was just too warm out. It kinda stinks that I’m in the mood to knit warm things after knitting dishcloths all summer, and it still feels like summer. Weird to have the AC on when the fall color is at peak.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Sock It » WIP-Toe Up Socks.
  2. tracy (sinistral_needler)
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 22:27:05

    I was knitting a dishcloth today and was very happy that I wasn’t working on an afghan. I am sick of this hot weather.