Been Quiet Here Lately…

Sorry for the lack of posting. January was kind of washout of a month and with sharing a single computer and a hubby who is on it all the time, it’s hard to get time online.

Between a transportation situation, getting sick, and the weather, I haven’t made either a Tuesday or a Sunday Knit ‘n’ Sip Together since before Christmas. There’s been a wrinkle in trying to go to the Tuesday ones involving transportation, or rather parking at my apartment complex. There is an issue with people who don’t live in my complex parking in tenant parking, and despite the big red sign that says parking is for tenants only, it’s not enforced. We have a car port and I’ve seen people who live in the building being “kicked” out of their own parking stall by someone who doesn’t live here. My hubby also has something he does on Tuesdays, and it’s actually happened where he came home and there was nowhere for him to park except on the street. And since it’s winter, you can’t park on the the street over night or they’ll ticket you. So, whoever gets home first, gets the carport and whoever gets home last, good luck. I was really happy about the fact that there would be a twice monthly Sunday get together despite what happened with Dunn Bros. , but now it looks like that might end up being a thing of the past because the new place is closing (or may be closing). So now I don’t know what I’m going to do until spring because I was hoping to go on Sundays for now and then go back to the Tuesday meetings when it didn’t matter so much if you had to park on the street overnight.

::sigh::

I’m hoping, secretly hoping that the snow we got today will be so bad, that I won’t be able to get out of the parking lot in the morning and then I can have a snow day from work.

And on to the knitting stuff…

Anyway, I am finished with the Dr. Who Scarf. Actually, it’s being blocked right now and probably tomorrow night, I will put the tassels on each end of it and then it will be done. I feel so happy about finishing something so big! It took almost three months to the day I started it and for the last few weeks, I worked on nothing like that.

I’ve got another scarf on the needles that I’m knitting out of stash yarn to match a hat I knit for myself out of stash yarn. But then I had to buy more yarn to finish the scarf because I used all the stash yarn up. I will probably knit the thing until I use the yarn up. It’s sort of my thing this year to knit more from the stash.

I am redoing the socks I am knitting for my son. I went to Yarns By Design on Saturday and picked up two balls of Tofutsies. I like that yarn a lot better than the stuff I was working with. Knit Picks also started selling 40 inch and 47 inch circulars in the smaller sock sizes, so I got some of those and I’m knitting these socks using Magic Loop. The socks will be the 4 stitch garter rib pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks, and the only “mod” I’m doing is the magic loop method. It’s been awhile since I’ve knitted socks cuff down.

Of the three ways to knit socks (DPN’s, 2 circs, ML), I think I like Magic Loop the best. I still want to try and learn how to knit two socks at the same time.

Tubey is hibernating. I put it down for awhile between the time I finished the short rows and the bust, and when I picked it up again, I discovered that it’s too big for me. I’ve joined a gym and started working on losing some weight and getting into shape. Between the last time I tried it on, and the most recent, I lost some weight, but I have about five inches or so to go on the body before I’m done. So the sweater is on hiatus until I decide if I want to frog it and start over, or if I would rather finish it and then give it away to Goodwill or St. Vinny’s or somewhere like that. If I can’t get some use out of it, maybe someone else, will.

The afghan I’m working on is more of a long term project, where I will work on it as I feel like.

I would like to try to knit another sweater, preferably a cardigan, but I think I’m going to wait until I lose the last 16 pounds I want to lose. Three years ago, I was a very trim 145 and I was in very good shape and I had a pretty good six pack going for a 35 year old. Then I got promoted to a desk job where I sat in front of a computer all day and I could eat at my desk and I gained 30 pounds. Last summer, I decided that enough was enough and I started walking every night and I lost 14 pounds. I’ve been sitting around the 14 pound mark and going nowhere, although I gained a few over the holidays. I hit a plateau because I could not go out for my walks after work due to it being dark and winter.

My husband decided to join Weight Watchers through work because he is overweight and I think that he finally realized that his being 80 pounds overweight had everything to do with his sciatica and his being out of shape. He’s lost ten pounds so far. I’m happy that he joined WW because through this, he is learning how to eat properly. Now he has to get active. He came from a family where there is a definite “victim” mentality, meaning that you believed that when something was wrong with you(in this case, being overweight), you were a victim of it and you can’t help that you’re overweight (in this case). His being overweight was his own doing because he ate so horribly, even when I’d try and get him to eat better.

His WW is through is work and they have something where you can spread the enrollment fee over a three month period, so instead of having to pay $180, it’s $60 a month for three months, which is easier to swallow. But it’s also a small price to pay if it means my hubby is healthy and learns to eat better.

A Snap Fitness opened on American Drive out by CB and we joined. I like the place a lot. What really sold me on it were two things. One, there is no contract. The other was that when we went in and took the tour and looked at the place, not once did we feel pressured to join.

Well, that’s the scoop from Casa de O’Malley.  🙂

Comments are closed.