When It Rains, It Pours

And it’s not about flooding, either.

My broken toeTwo days ago, I broke my toe in two places. It’s the fourth toe on my right foot. I accomplished this feat the other day when I got up from my chair to refill my coffee and my toe connected with the leg of my kitchen table. I’ve been off of work since Wednesday, and I’ve been sort of doped up on pain pills. The doctor gave me one of those walking cast/shoe things to wear and a prescription for hydrocodone. Today is the first day I went without taking the pain pills, which is good, because yesterday, they knocked me out.

In my more lucid moments, I worked on the Shapely Tank. Shapely Tank Top Progress-6/27/2008I’m often rethinking the sleeve idea, but I think it’s mainly because the top is going so well and I’m very impatient to get this thing finished and wear it. I may actually have a top that will turn out and will fit me. I’m going to have quite a bit left over yarn, even after using the yarn I frogged from the other top I used first before the balls of yarn I had yet to use. I may have enough to knit another top or a shrug or a lot of dish clothes. πŸ™‚

Today is the first day I haven’t taken the prescription pain pills. I tried just taking an Aleve and it seems to be working just fine. The good thing about this is that I have time to sit and knit, since I can’t get up and do anything else. πŸ™‚

My next project, after I finish this, is to do my first felting project. I’ve been in the hunt for a new purse and I’m not seeing anything I like, so I decided to knit one and felt it. I bought some skeins of Lamb’s Pride Bulky at Yarns By Design. I just ordered some of the larger tips for my options needles at Knit Picks (along with some sock yarn, some of the longer cable sock size circulars that I don’t have, and a book since they’re having a book sale). I think I’m going to be bold and try to wing it as far as the pattern goes.

Even though it seems that I’ve had some recent bad luck, in many ways, they are blessings in disguise. Having one vehicle is inconvenient, but we’re getting used to it and adapting. On the positive side, we are not just hopping into the car and driving anywhere. We’re planning our trips and consolidating them to be more efficient. Other positives are that we are only insuring one vehicle and we’re also spending a bit less on gas than what we were with both vehicles. On the negative side, I’m sort of dependent on my husband to get me to work and if something happens to me and I have to leave early, he does, too. And I can’t go and do all the other things I want to do, too. I still haven’t found a compromise with him on this yet.

Somehow, I think my broken toe is a blessing in disguise, too, but I haven’t found what the blessing was, yet. Maybe more knitting time. πŸ™‚

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Eileen Kunstman
    Jul 13, 2008 @ 14:32:04

    Ouch! I broke my big toe 5 years ago and it was so black and blue. Hope yours is better soon!