WTF Recommendations #2

When I hear a Rolling Stones song, I automatically think of women's deoderant

Because I watched a 1973 commercial for Soft & Dri Deoderant featuring a voice over with Casey Kasem, You Tube thinks I should watch a video for The Rolling Stone’s Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker).

Really, You Tube?  What does Mick Jagger have to do with women’s deodorant?   What does this song even have to do with deodorant?   The lyrics talk about some sad and gritty subjects (drug use being one of them), but I don’t recall pitting out your shirt or people offended by the nasty funk you are emitting from your armpits being one of them.

Casey Kasem hosted America’s Top 40 and played quite a few Rolling Stones songs in his day, but Casey Kasem did a lot of other things and I don’t see You Tube recommending I watch a particular episode of Scooby Doo because I watched an old deoderant commercial.

Just because two things happened in the same decade doesn’t mean they are even remotely related.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. vicky
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 09:48:15

    well that is true there might be two independent revolutions of a time that are completely independent of each other.
    people outside get to know about that only through the mainstream media.