When Bad Songs Happen to Good Artists-The Led Zeppelin Edition

I love the band Led Zeppelin.  But sometimes, it is difficult for me to wrap my brain around the fact that the same band who did epic songs like Dazed and Confused, Stairway to Heaven, and Kashmir also did Fool in the Rain.

I suppose I should be grateful that they decided to make a quasi-samba record instead of completely selling out and making a disco record like so many rock artists did in the late 1970s (I’m talking to you Rolling Stones, KISS, and Rod Stewart).   But it doesn’t make this song any easier to take.    I’m all for bands being creative and experimenting.  When it works, it’s wonderful.  When it doesn’t work, then it’s a disaster.  This song is the latter.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thomas Stazyk
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 13:22:43

    True, but not having heard that song for about 20 years, I feel that, unlike some of the other groups you listed, Led Zeppelin were good even when they were bad.

  2. msannomalley
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 13:27:38

    I would agree, if for nothing else, based upon the fact that the concert footage from The Song Remains the Same still blows most bands out of the water and this was supposed to be only a mediocre performance. I guess this song gets on my nerves because one of the local radio stations plays it into the ground when there are so many better LZ songs they could be playing. If they didn’t play it so much, I’d probably be in the “meh” camp.