I Apologize for the Silence

I apologize for the month-long silence on these pages.  But two things happened:

First, my medical leave was up and I went back to work.   I was on medical leave from September to November.

Second, I participated in NaNoWriMo for the very first time and I spent a lot of my free time furiously writing a 50,000 word first draft of a novel.  I am very pleased to announce:

I Won!!

Yes, I wrote 50,315 words in 28 days!   I don’t get a book contract and wealth and fame beyond my wildest dreams, but I do get to brag and after the first of the year, I get a substantial discount on a writing program.   I also get the satisfaction that I started something and I saw it through until the end.

Participating in this has truly liberated me as a writer and it helped me smack down the inner critic and the inner editor and just let myself write.   In order to succeed in this endeavor, you have to give your self permission to do two things:  write crap and to not finish.   Then you just sit and you write and let whatever happen happen.

In the future, I plan on providing more written content along with all the You Tube links.

My participation in NaNoWriMo was mostly spur of the moment.  I do plan on getting content together before I participate in this next November to avoid the silence.

But, if you like what you read here, you can subscribe and be notified by e-mail when I make new posts.  This way, you don’t have to keep checking back every day if I’m silent.  And next time, I will announce if I have to go on hiatus.

Comments are closed.